650 local and foreign journalists will cover the fifth summit of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA) that will take place in the Tajik capital from June 14-15, according to the Tajik MFA information department.

To-date, journalists from the United States, China, Canada, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, Afghanistan, Iran, Cambodia, Turkey, India, Belarus, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Vietnam, Pakistan, Russia, Bangladesh, Libya, Sri Lanka, Kyrgyzstan and some countries of the European Union have been accredited to cover the CICA summit.  

Presidents of Tajikistan, Russia, China, Iran, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Bangladesh, Turkey and Sri Lanka as well as Afghanistan Chief Executive Abdullah Abdullah will participate in the upcoming summit.  

Besides, high-ranking delegations from Bahrain, Vietnam, Egypt, Israel, India, Jordan, Iraq, Qatar, Cambodia, South Korea, Mongolia, the United Arab Emirates, Pakistan, Palestine, Thailand, Belarus, Indonesia, the United States, the Philippines, Malaysia, Ukraine, Japan, United Nations, OSCE, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and CIS Executive Committee will arrive in Dushanbe to attend the CICA summit.  

The theme of the 5th CICA summit is “Common Vision for a Safe and More Prosperous CICA Region.”  The summit will adopt and release a declaration.

Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA) is a multi-national forum for enhancing cooperation towards promoting peace, security and stability in Asia.  It was initiated by Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev in 1992.  In 1996, seventeen states participated in the conference and drafted the basic document.  The first meeting of the CICA Ministers of Foreign Affairs was held on 14 September 1999 with participation of 15 Member States. The Declaration on Principles Guiding Relations between CICA Member States was adopted at that meeting.  The first CICA summit was held in 2002.

CICA member states now include Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Egypt, Iceland, India, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Norway, North Korea, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Philippines, Qatar, South Korea, Russia, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and Vietnam.

At a meeting of CICA foreign ministers that took place in September 2018 on the sidelines of the 73rd session of the UN General Assembly, the chairmanship of the forum for 2018-2020 moved from China to Tajikistan.