Tajikistan’s ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDPT) has won parliamentary by-election in the single-mandate constituency in the Vanj district of the Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region (GBAO).  It member has run unopposed.

The by-election in the single-mandate constituency in GBAO’s Vanj district took place on June 17 following the death of deputy of the Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’s lower house of parliament) Muhabbatsho Rouzador.

First deputy governor of the Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region, Nourali Riyoyev, garnered 98.7 percent of the vote, an official source at the GBAO regional administration told Asia-Plus in an interview.   

Muhabbatsho Rouzador died of heart failure on March 19, 2018. 

Tajikistan’s parliament (Majlisi Oli) has two chambers: Majlisi Namoyandagon (Assembly of Representatives) and Majlisi Milli (National Assembly).

Majlisi Namoyandagon is the lower chamber with 63 members elected for a five-year term, 22 by proportional representation and 41 in single-seat constituencies.

Majlisi Milli is the upper chamber with 33 members, 25 elected for a five-year term by deputies of local councils and 8 appointed by the president.

The bicameral legislature was introduced in Tajikistan in the September 1999.  Prior to that, Tajikistan had a unicameral legislature.

The Majlisi Namoyandagon is elected on the basis of universal, free, equal, and direct elections by means of secret ballot.  The Majlisi Namoyandagon is the professional and function on a permanent basis.

Citizens not younger than 25 years, being national of Tajikistan for not less than five years and having higher education can be elected to the Majlisi Namoyandagon.