Citing the Border Service at the State Committee for National Security, AKIPress reports that the Cabinet of Ministers of Kyrgyzstan on May 21 issued a regulation imposing temporary entry, travel and transit restrictions for nationals of Tajikistan. 

The regulation reportedly limits the passage of goods and vehicles to and from Tajikistan via border crossing points (BCPs) Kulundu, Kairagach, Qizil-Bek, Bordobo and Karamyk located along the Kyrgyz-Tajik border.  

An exception is made for: employees of diplomatic missions of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan and members of their families; employees of diplomatic missions of foreign states and international organizations as well as members of their families; and officials of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan with advance agreement with competent authorities of Kyrgyzstan.

The regulation also notes that citizens of Kyrgyzstan staying in Tajikistan may return to Kyrgyzstan and citizens of Tajikistan staying in Kyrgyzstan may return to Tajikistan via BCPs along the Kyrgyz-Tajik border.  

It is to be noted that Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers of Kyrgyzstan Ulugbek Maripov stated during his meeting with residents of border areas of Chong-Alay district in Osh region that traffic across Kyrgyzstan’s common border with Tajikistan will be fully stopped until problematic issues are resolved.   

Official Dushanbe has not yet commented on this issue.

Recall, clashes in border areas between Kyrgyz and Tajik military that took place in late April left 55 killed and more than 270 wounded on both sides. 

The border of Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan has been the scene of unrest repeatedly since the collapse of the former Soviet Union.

Border talks between Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan began in 2002.  The countries share 976 kilometers of border – of which only 504 kilometers has reportedly been properly delineated, leading to tensions for the past 30 years.