Tajik-Sino Mining Company is taking measures to promote further expansion of cooperation between the higher educational institutions of Tajikistan and China.

On the initiative of Tajik-Sino Mining Company, a delegation comprising representatives of  three Chinese universities, namely Kunming University of Science and Technology, Northwest University and Lanzhou University, visited Tajikistan last week.  They visited universities in Dushanbe and Khujand.

They held meetings with Deputy Prime Minister Azim Ibrohim, senior representatives of the Ministry of Education of Education and Science, the Ministry of Industry and New Technologies as well as the Khujand State University administration to discuss ways to expand cooperation between Chinese and Tajik universities.

While in the Sughd province, Chinese guests also visited the city of Buston to sign a memorandum of cooperation with Tajik Mining-Metallurgical Institute.  

As it was reported earlier, at least 25 students and young teachers from Tajikistan will begin studying at Kunming University of Science and Technology (KMUST) in China on September 1, 2018.  They will take training courses to earn bachelor, master and PhD degrees in mining and exploration geology.  Tajik students will study the following disciplines: mine surveying;  geological engineering; mining; mineral processing technology; and metallurgical equipment. 

Tajik-Sino Mining Company is located in the settlement of Zarnisor, which is administratively subordinate to the city of Guliston (formerly Qairoqqum), Sughd province.  The enterprise was granted licenses for development of the lead and zinc deposits Altyn-Topkan and Pay-Buloq.

Kunming University of Science and Technology is located in Kunming, the capital city of Yunnan Province, Southwestern China.  As the goal by 2010, KUST was to become a key university with a strong science and engineering background.  The university is to be developed into an important provincial training base for advanced technical personnel, a research base for applied fundamental research and hi-tech research, an industrialization base for hi-tech, and a research and consulting center for the national social and economic development.

With the current 20 faculties (schools) covering the fields ranging from science, engineering and economics to administration, arts, law and education, KUST offers a complete list of degree programs including Ph.D., MS., MSEng., MEng, MA, BS, BSEng and BA, as well as programs including post-doctorate, preparatory, continuing education, vocational training and Chinese language training for international students.

Northwest University, located in Xi'an city, Shaanxi Province, is one of the nation's leading comprehensive universities. Founded in 1902, it is one of the oldest institutions of learning in Northwest China.

Presently, the university has 11 colleges, 33 departments, 63 Bachelor's and Associate's programs. Its student population amounts to 18,000, including about 2000 Ph.D. and master students, and about 100 international students.  Since the start of the Chinese economic reform in 1978, Northwest University has established cooperation and exchange relations with nearly 30 institutions of higher education of scientific research in the United States, Japan, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Russia, Canada, Australia, Switzerland, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and The Philippines.

Lanzhou University is a major research university in Lanzhou, Gansu Province, China.  Founded in 1909, it is one of the key universities under China's Ministry of Education.  It provides programs for undergraduate, graduate students on four campuses—three in Lanzhou city center and one in Yuzhong County.  Total enrolment is approximately 20,000.  There are 6 National Bases for the Training of Researching and Teaching personnel for Fundamental Disciplines.  The University operates an additional 35 institutes along with 1 national key Laboratory of the Applied Organic and 3 key laboratories of Arid and Grassland Ecology, West China Environment, Magnetism and Magnetic Materials of the Ministry of Education, a key laboratory of Grassland Agro-ecosystem of the Ministry of Agriculture.  Lanzhou University was one of the first universities entitled to enroll Bachelor Master’s and Doctoral degree candidates in 1981.  Lanzhou University is one of the top ten universities in contributions to academic publications in international journals frequently cited by ongoing research from around the world.