Dushanbe will host the Festival of Feature and Television Films of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Member States from June 29 to July 2, 2021 as Tajikistan is currently holding the rotating presidency of the Organization.   

The festival will present feature films and television documentaries from eight SCO member nations, four observer states and six dialogue partner states of the SCO.

The movies will be judged by the International and National Juries, consisted of famous filmmakers, producers and film critics.  The winners of the film festival will be given the Golden Swallow Award at the closing ceremony on July 2. 

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization was founded at a Summit in Shanghai in 2001 by the presidents of Russia, China, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization currently has eight full members -- China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.

Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia are four observer states, and SCO’s dialogue partners include Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey.  ACEAN, CIS, Turkmenistan and the United Nations are guest attendances.

The SCO now represents around 42% of the world’s population, 22% of its land area and around 20% of GDP.