Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov signed an agreement between Russia and Argentina on visa free travel on Wednesday.

Argentine Foreign Minister Jorge Taiana signed this document on March 11.

“After the agreement is signed, the sides should make certain formalities and inform each other about their completion. Then the agreement will come into effect in a month,” director of the Russian Foreign Ministry consular department Andrei Krylov said.

After the agreement enters into force it should be ratified by the parliaments of both countries.

Argentine Ambassador to Russia Leopoldo Bravo stressed that the signing of the agreement “is an important step towards carrying out a plan of action on strategic partnership between Russia and Argentine”. “The visa-free regime will expand cooperation between both countries and increase the inflow of tourists,” the diplomat said.

Under the agreement, citizens of Russia and Argentina will be able to enter and leave, travel through or stay on the territories of these countries without visas within not less than 90 days and 180 days starting from the first day of the entrance. If the stay exceeds 90 days or citizens wish to engage in labour or commercial activities they should get a visa in accordance with legislation of a state.