DUSHANBE, August 30, Asia-Plus -- A meeting of the CIS Council of Heads of State that will take place in Dushanbe from September 2 to September 3 is supposed to consider eleven draft documents.

According to the Tajik MFA information department, the most significant of those documents are a joint statement by the CIS heads of state on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of founding of the Commonwealth of Independent State (CIS) and an analytical report on the results of the activity of the CIS over the past twenty years and perspective tasks.

The draft documents were worked out in accordance with the plan of actions dedicated to the 20th anniversary of the CIS that was endorsed by the CIS Council of Heads of Government on May 21, 2010.

The Dushanbe summit is also expected to consider a number of issues related to further expansion of humanitarian and security cooperation within the CIS area as well as draft agreements on perpetuation of the memory of the courage and heroism of the CIS people during World War II and on organizing activities of CIS air defense system in case of receiving information about aircraft hijacking and a draft program on cooperation in countering illegal migration designed for 2012-2014.

The CIS heads of state are also expected to discuss the process of implementation of the plan of basic measures on implementation of the CIS further development concept and make decision on a draft agreement between the Government of Russia and the CIS on terms of deployment of the Coordination Service of the CIS Council of Border Troops Commanders on the territory of the Russian Federation and a draft resolution on making changes and addenda to the statue on the council of the CIS interior ministers.

Tajikistan assumed the rotating CIS chairmanship for this year and Dushanbe will host the next annual CIS summit set for September 2011.

The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is a regional organization whose participating countries are former Soviet Republics, formed during the breakup of the Soviet Union.  It now consists of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine. Georgia pulled out of the organization in 2009.