The Foreign Ministry of Tajikistan asks citizens of the country to refrain from any travels to Kyrgyzstan.   

“In connection with the adoption by the Cabinet of Ministers of Kyrgyzstan of the order No 12-r of May 21 without prior notice, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Tajikistan asks citizens of Tajikistan to refrain from any travels to Kyrgyzstan or transit to other countries through the territory Kyrgyzstan,” Tajik MFA says in its statement released yesterday afternoon.

Tajik MFA also asks legal entities and sole proprietors engaged in freight and passenger transportation by any type of transport not to use the territory of Kyrgyzstan and to carry out transportation by means of alternative routes through the third countries.  

“In case of violation of their rights or manifestation of bias, in the territory of Kyrgyzstan, our citizens can contact the hotline of the Tajik Embassy in Bishkek: +996500442211 and +996312511637. 

Recall, Kyrgyz border guards yesterday morning barred dozens of Tajik citizens flying from Tajikistan from entering the country.  

The flight, operated by Tajikistan’s carrier Somon Air, flew back to the capital, Dushanbe, early on May 26 with the 177 Tajik nationals who had been denied entry by the Kyrgyz Border Service at Bishkek’s Manas airport due to a temporary closure of the border for citizens of Tajikistan.

The 177 Tajiks were reportedly stranded at the airport for four hours before being sent back to Tajikistan, while nine citizens of other countries were allowed to stay in the Kyrgyz capital after the aircraft landed at Manas late on May 25.

Besides, about 100 other Tajik citizens who have flown in from different cities of Russia or were in transit have been stuck at the Bishkek airport.

The Tajik Foreign Ministry had not received any information from Kyrgyzstan that it would not accept the Dushanbe-Bishkek flight.

Recall, Kyrgyzstan has imposed temporary restrictions limiting border crossing for Tajikistan citizens.  The Cabinet of Ministers of Kyrgyzstan on May 21 issued a regulation imposing temporary entry, travel and transit restrictions for nationals of Tajikistan. 

The regulation limits the passage of goods and vehicles to and from Tajikistan via border crossing points (BCPs) Kulundu, Kairagach, Qizil-Bek, Bordobo and Karamyk located along the Kyrgyz-Tajik border.  

An exception is made for: employees of diplomatic missions of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan and members of their families; employees of diplomatic missions of foreign states and international organizations as well as members of their families; and officials of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan with advance agreement with competent authorities of Kyrgyzstan.

The regulation also notes that citizens of Kyrgyzstan staying in Tajikistan may return to Kyrgyzstan and citizens of Tajikistan staying in Kyrgyzstan may return to Tajikistan via BCPs along the Kyrgyz-Tajik border.  

It is to be noted that Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers of Kyrgyzstan Ulugbek Maripov stated during his meeting with residents of border areas of Chong-Alay district in Osh region that traffic across Kyrgyzstan’s common border with Tajikistan will be fully stopped until problematic issues are resolved.