On Wednesday January 25, a meeting of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Group of member nations took place at the United Nations headquarters in New York, at which the candidature of Tajikistan was supported for non-permanent membership in the United Nations Security Council for 2028-2029, according to the Tajik MFA information department.

The Permanent Representative of Tajikistan to the UN, Mr. Jonibek Hikmat, during the presentation of the country’s candidature, noted that with active participation in various activities and processes within the UN, as well as taking into account the unique experience of the country, the time has come to nominate Tajikistan for non-permanent membership in the UN Security Council for 2028-2029.

At the conclusion of the discussion of this topic, the OIC Group member nations unanimously expressed their support for Tajikistan's candidacy for a non-permanent membership in the UN Security Council for the 2028-2029.

The Tajik MFA information department notes that by the decision of the OIC Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs No. 8/48-LO (March 22-23, 2022, Islamabad, Islamic Republic of Pakistan), member states were called upon to support the candidature of Tajikistan.

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations and is charged with ensuring international peace and security,[3] recommending the admission of new UN members to the General Assembly,[4] and approving any changes to the UN Charter.  Its powers include establishing peacekeeping operations, enacting international sanctions, and authorizing military action.  The UNSC is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions on member states.

The UN Security Council is composed of 15 members: five permanent members, including China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States; and ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly (with end of term year).