The Japanese government has put a number of companies from Russia, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan on a new sanctions list.  Japan has reportedly unveiled trade restrictions against those firms over their alleged support for Russia’s war on Ukraine.

Japan’s Foreign Ministry says new Japanese sanctions affected seven companies from China and one each from the UAE, India, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan as well as 11 individuals and 42 organizations from Russia.

These companies are reportedly helping Russia buy electronics and evade sanctions.

The restrictions are being imposed taking into account “the current international situation around Ukraine, as well as with the aim of promoting international efforts to achieve international peace aimed at resolving this issue, in accordance with measures taken by other major countries”.

Under the measures, Japanese companies are prohibited from exporting goods to the sanctioned firms.

The latest sanctions reportedly come after Japan and South Korea last month announced sanctions targeting companies and individuals accused of supplying North Korean weapons to Russia for use in Ukraine.

Al Jazeera notes that under Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida, Tokyo has adopted a tougher stance against Moscow than any other government in Asia, most of which have declined to take sides in the war.